Tags

,

(In my last post, I promised to tell you how to create your own online Job Performance Support System using only PowerPoint.  In this post, I’ll begin by showing  you what the finished product might look like.)

So, how can you create an online performance support system in PowerPoint?

A first requirement, of course, is that your employees have access to documents online.  This could be through a link on your company’s intranet or links to document repositories in the cloud, such as Box.Net, Google Docs or SlideRocket.

A second requirement is a moderate degree of expertise in PowerPoint.  I’ll assume, for example, that you know how to insert buttons onto a slide and hyperlink these to other slides.

Just as I did in an earlier post on designing paper-based Job Performance Aids, I’ll suggest that you start with the end product in mind:  what do members of your audience need to know and/or do?

Work backwards from the end product and continue in reverse order until you reach your top-level menu items.  It may be easier for you to create a paper-based version first, and copy from it to your slides.  (There is an easy way to turn a Word outline into a PowerPoint presentation; I’ll address that in my next post.)

Here is an example of a bottom-level slide.

Here is the next higher level slide.  The first bulleted item in the menu, Our History, is hyperlinked to the slide pictured above.

And here is the top-line menu.  The first item here, About Our Company, is hyperlinked to the slide/menu immediately above.

How many menu items should you have per menu slide?  Try not to exceed eight; your users will often miss things if there are more.  If you have too many items for a menu, you might need to split it in two and insert another level in your hierarchy.

That’s it for this post.  In my next, I’ll give you a Job Performance Aid for creating an online Job Performance Support System in PowerPoint.