Tags

,

(In my last post I showed you how a main line slide and an enrichment slide can be linked to one another to create a “round trip” using only PowerPoint.)

Now I’ll show you a few “tricks” I used in my last post to create the links between my main line and enrichment slide.

First, I created the two slides:

Next, I moved the enrichment slide beyond the black slide at the end of the main line of slides.

Why did I move the slide?  I wanted to preserve the “illusion” that it was not in the main line of the presentation.  Had I not moved the slide, it would simply have appeared following the “What?” slide and the caption, “Click here to return to the main line,” would have been meaningless.  (This step would have been unnecessary, by the way, if I were going to publish my presentation via the Articulate plug-in.  In that case, I would have set up the branching using Articulate’s Slide Properties facility.)

Next, I added a rectangle to the main line slide and positioned it over the Click Me button and the associated text.

Why didn’t I simply make the text itself the link?  If I had, the text would have turned ugly; purple and underlined.  Also, I wouldn’t have been able to simultaneously attach the link to both the button and the text:  I would have needed two links.

Next, I hyper-linked the rectangle to the enrichment “President Lincoln” slide.

Next, I added a rectangle to the enrichment slide.

…and hyper-linked it back to the “What?” slide.

Finally, of course, I applied “No Fill” and “No Line” to the shapes, so that these would be invisible to the learner.

I’ll be back with another post soon.